On: Why Queer?

Someone, again, asked me “why queer? It means weird and odd and is a [pejorative]; I prefer gay.” And to that I said that “gay” can be used as a pejorative as well and carries with it, especially as it is most commonly publicly performed now, an air of homonormativity. But I should add: 
I choose queer because for me gay is about my dick, my ass, my lips, my heart and that is it; it tells you very little about me. Queer is about my dick, my ass, my lips, my heart, my mind, my walk, my talk, my wrists, my hair, my skin, it is my body, all of me is essential and central. For me queer is my embracement of how most people actually live their lives–whether they recognize it or not. My queer politics does not work along side my racial politics or my gay politics or gender politics, etc, but these are all my queer politics.

Tagged ,

Your Turn:

