Fat Boi Eats: Turkey Lurkey Time (Turkey Burgers Tonight)

This may become my new TBT; except it is not Thursday but that sounds so much better than TBS. Oh wait is TBS even around anymore? Okay so this is the NEW TBS, “Turkey Burger Saturday.” And no, the is none for Uncle Jon; I don’t even have an uncle named Jon. This is all for me. Fat Boi!

Confession: I love turkey burgers. I prefer them to beef burgers. The only burger I prefer more would be a nice bison burger (seriously, if you have not tried it, get into it!). Turkey burgers are so versatile. I mean you can do a curried turkey burger, a smokey one, a BBQ flavored one, a really grassy herby one, a Greek flavored one (So amazingly good), a Chinese take-out inspired one, a Thai one, a Soul Food inspired one, Italian, Caribbean; hell, you can do a transnational turkey burger with Caribbean seasoning, Italian or French bread, and a pan-Asian relish. Oh my mouth has just flooded. Let me gather myself.

Okay. So tonight I went for a BBQ inspired one, but with no BBQ sauce (gotta watch the sugar) and little salt. To do this and keep flavor the key is simple, moderate your sugar (I did this by making a relish with apples the hope is the sweetness of the apples will play off the smokiness of the BBQ grill seasoning giving me a BBQ taste) and when decreasing your salt, INCREASE your salt-free spices (check your blends to make sure they are salt free; better yet, go to you local market, get friendly with the spice shop people and by our spices individually. You can make your own blends which will be far superior to store bought ones because you are making it according to your taste buds). This is all i then did:

  1. Season turkey
  2. Place in hand
  3. Form
  4. Slap onto a nonstick skillet with 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil
  5. sear
  6. flip
  7. sear
  8. douse with a little water
  9. cover
  10. place in oven to steam cook to perfection
  11. take out
  12. cool a little
  13. plate
  14. Consume

Oh my sides b/c we can’t (and shouldn’t) live on meat alone. The Sweet Potatoes. I followed the recipe of crush (but I added some cumin seeds). My relish: I just chopped up some stuff in my fridge (apples, celery, some peppers) used a teaspoon of hot chili sauce, a splash of lime juice, a little honey. and that it. That is my dinner.

Well this is my dinner:

 

 

update: I am so full and it was gooooood

Tagged , ,

Your Turn:

